The more excellent way…

“Love does no wrong to one’s neighbor [ it never hurts anyone ]. Therefore love meets all the requirements and is the fulfilling of the law.” Romans 13:10 (AMP)

In our lives, we have lived, loved and most certainly have been broken by it. Yes! Admit it. It happens to even the best of us. We draw back in resentment and almost immediately resolve never to love again but is this what God requires of us? “We loved because He first loved us.” Remember this verse? Yes, this is my perfect description of love. It was given to us free and not a dime was charged. We did not do anything to merit it but God gave us His love just because…
As Christians and as emotional creatures in this fallen world, it is hard to love less-than-perfect people. However, God has called us to a life of love. In Corinthians, Paul encouraged the Corinth to pursue spiritual gifts but He also told them that he needed to show them something of worth (a way); something excellent; something greater so to speak. So what is this more excellent way? This is a life where we love people just as Christ loved us and gave Himself for us. A life when we are not stopped by the fear of being vulnerable. A life where loving is being vulnerable but also loving is being just like God. It’s a life where we love not because love is being reciprocated or is convenient. It’s a life where we do not fear being taken advantage of or being taken for granted because we love and however, yes, we will be taken advantage of. We will be misunderstood, accused of ulterior motives or worse rejected.
I have been seriously thinking on these things and been wondering if I wouldn’t be doing myself a world of bad by loving. I honestly hate being taken advantage of and most certainly being manipulated. It just makes me want to rebel. But then again, I love God and I want to do His will and the totality of it is clear to see… I must love. Despite the pain it may bring me, I must love!
Digressing, when we love genuinely, we may suffer pain but we should also understand that God is moulding us. How do I explain this now? Ok, I realised in my life that the times I had been broken by love, God had used my pain to mould me and release His power upon my life. He used my pain to break me, re-mold me and make me whole and complete in Him. This process made me more compassionate, more loving, and more humble and it increased the fruits of the spirit in my life. I believe this was part of the training Jesus went through as he experienced the cross. I also believe we can relate to Paul’s experience when he said “most gladly therefore, would I rather glory in my infirmity that the Power of Christ may rest upon me”- 2 Corinthians 12:9. The power of God is released in our lives when we go through pain for when we are weak, then we are strong. His strength is made perfect in weakness. God uses pain to strengthen us and make us wholly dependent on Him. He perfects us just like Jesus.

“4Love endures long and is kind; Love never is envious nor boils over with jealousy; is not vain glorious, does not display itself haughtily. 5It is not conceited (arrogant and inflated with pride); it is not rude (unmannerly) and doesn’t act unbecomingly. Love does not insist on its own rights or its own way for it is not self seeking. It is not touchy, fretful or resentful; it takes no account of wrong done to it [it pays no attention to a suffered wrong]. 6It does not rejoice in injustice and unrighteousness but rejoices when right and truth prevail. 7Love bears up under anything and everything that comes, is ever ready to believe the best of every person, its hopes are fadeless under all circumstances and it endures everything [without weakening]. 8 Love never fails [never fades out or becomes obsolete or comes to an end]…- 1 Corinthians 13

Trust me, this one doesn’t come easy and the love we claim to show on a daily basis doesn’t even come close to it. Love here to me looks like a good woman extraordinaire. Literally speaking, these verses just make me wanna throw up because I realize love here is serious business and is hard work. But then again, I believe that God in His wisdom has given us the grace to match up to these requirements. Even when loving seems impossible, we can obtain the spirit of love and grace from His throne and shower it on others not because they deserve to be loved or because we are loved starved and if we love them, just maybe they will reciprocate but because, He loves us, He fills our hearts daily with His love, He expects us to be just like Him by loving others and day by day and we are perfected by His love. After all, Children should take after their fathers right? I thought so too. So, Let us go back to the master of love, seat at His feet and learn pure, undiluted and unconditional love because God is the only true source of Love!

2 thoughts on “The more excellent way…

  1. Love, to me, isn’t the excellent way. It’s the “absolute” way. That’s the essence of God, the source of creation and the purpose for our lives. All God’s commands, precepts and principles and hinged and driven by LOVE.
    May the Lord grant us the zeal. Amen

I'd love to hear what you have to say

